Senate GOP Votes to Block Dems’ Jan. 6 Commission, Except for 6 Republicans

Speaker Pelosi’s dream of relitigating the January 6th Capitol riots until the mid-term elections is over. The U.S. Senate just delivered a back-breaking rejection of the “independent” commission that was hand-selected by Nancy Pelosi.

“A crucial Senate vote on a bill to create an independent inquiry to investigate the deadly January 6 Capitol Hill riot failed Friday, falling short of the 10 Republican votes needed to advance and illustrating GOP efforts to move on from the insurrection that left five people dead and injured 140 police officers,” CNN reported.

“The vote was 54 to 35, showing the bill had a bipartisan majority of support with six Republicans voting with Democrats. However, the bill needed 60 votes to advance,” the report noted.

“The six GOP senators who backed the bill were: Mitt Romney of Utah, Susan Collins of Maine, Bill Cassidy of Louisiana, Rob Portman of Ohio, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska and Ben Sasse of Nebraska,” the report added.

These senators voted for Donald Trump’s conviction in the Senate impeachment trial, except for Rob Portman. Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania and Richard Burr of North Carolina were the other senators who voted for Trump’s conviction.

Nine Republicans and two Senate Democrats reportedly skipped the vote. Those senators are:

"*" indicates required fields

Would you rather........*
This poll subscribes you to our premium network of content. Unsubscribe at any time.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

This is breaking news. It will be updated as more information is forthcoming.

As seen on Becker News. Follow Kyle Becker and Becker News on Twitter.

Notice: This article may contain commentary that reflects the author's opinion.